I'm a noob to skins, so how do I make one?

Discussion in 'Skins' started by Captain Knight, Aug 6, 2011.

1. Captain Knight

Captain Knight Level 6: Lakitu

Well, don't be a troll, but can someone give me a brief explanation of how to make a skin sheet?

2. Keke

Keke Level 2: Koopa

You download a spritesheet for a character you want to make the skin for, like this one for example.
    If you want to stay true to NES colors you could also download this color palette.
    [​IMG]
    Then you open the spritesheet in your favorite image editing program. Paint works just fine but you can also use other programs (Photoshop or gimp for example) if you feel more comfortable with a different one. Then you can start editing the spritesheet, just start painting over the characters in the spritesheet. You can make a recolor or you can change the character completely, the possibilities are endless. You can use the color palette if you want, but it doesn't matter really what colors you use since SMBC is made in Flash, and Flash can handle any color I believe. The background color shouldn't matter. When you are done just save your creation in an image format, I believe PNG is the preferred format. I believe Jay is going to release official spritesheets for each character, but it shouldn't be a problem if you have already used another sheet because you should be able to move the characters from a sheet to another without bigger problems.

I hope that was atleast a little helpful:)

Captain Knight and aliceandsven like this.
  3. Rey D

Rey D Level 12: Super Mod
    Patron